The New Rock Star in Town

I’m not sure whether this is a uniquely German phenomenon, or whether it would be true in other countries, as well, but having a small baby in Germany is a little bit like having your own rock star in the family.

You see, the Mr. and I have noticed that whenever the GABOJ comes out of his stroller in public, an audible wave of cooing and gooing over him begins. It happens a little less often when we’re in the city center, but if we’re in our neighborhood in the bakery, the grocery store or a restaurant, all we have to do to wow the crowd is whip our little guy out. And the patrons of the hotel we stayed at in Meersburg, the Terrassenhotel Weißhaar (“white hair), actually were mostly 60+ in age, so the GABOJ was the hit of the place. The morning waitress in the restaurant couldn’t get enough of him, and actually looked depressed one morning when the Mr. came down for breakfast on his own while the little guy and I slept in.

Families in Germany tend to be small, an average of 1.3 kids according to a quick Google search, so I guess that may have something to do with it. But the Mr. and I have found it so interesting that we now have a way to charm perfect strangers.

We’re a little biased, but we can see where they’re coming from. He is pretty darn cute.

P1010003

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The New Rock Star in Town

  1. Jenny says:

    Oh he is VERY cute! I hope I can meet him some time 🙂 I just caught up on your blog, glad you seem to be recovering – I hope everything is getting easier for you now 🙂

  2. Bonnie says:

    With great power comes great responsibility. 🙂

  3. Rebecca says:

    Super cute! And the “wow-effect” doesn’t stop, even after a year. I consider the Germans (especially the Franconians) not as the nicest and most open people of the world, but when it comes to children, they show themselves from a different side. We’re living in WÜ since some weeks now and it’s still astonishing!

Leave a Reply

