Baby Steps

P1060582I’ve wanted to post before now, but it’s crazy how little time one has with a newborn at home. And given that we don’t have any other children, I can’t even imagine how people who have a baby with a toddler at home do it! I am in awe of you all.

On Monday, it will be four weeks since our GABOJ was born. This last month hasn’t been an easy one. Both my recovery after the c-section and breastfeeding have both been a lot harder than I had hoped. I feel like we’re slowly moving in the right direction and things are starting to fall into place, but there are still plenty of moments that feel overwhelming and exhausting. For example, I feel like I have the motherly instinct to love and nurture, but that doesn’t necessarily translate into practical skills like knowing how best to soothe a fussy baby or being able to juggle holding him and doing something else at the same time. Heck, I don’t even have the upper-body strength yet to hold him for any real length of time!

Anyway, I still plan to write about my recovery in a German hospital, but in the meantime, I thought I’d post some photos taken two weeks ago of the little guy’s first trip into town with us. It was a short trip as I was still fairly weak from my surgery, and I also don’t feel comfortable nursing him in public yet. It’s not really about embarrassment, but more the practicalities of managing to do it with a tiny infant and no breastfeeding support pillows. So basically, at the moment, my trips out of the house are limited to no more than 3 hours. But short trips into town are still good training exercises for us as we learn to navigate getting around with an infant.

We first grabbed a bus into the town center.

Image

In general, he seems to really enjoy being in his pram. He usually looks around quite a bit, and then drifts off to sleep. And we love the stroller we picked out for him. The Brio Go is so easy to manoeuver, has tons of shopping space at the bottom, and is stylish as well.

ImageOnce we arrived, we had a coffee and cake in a bakery and then walked just next door a little bit into the Juliusspital “Fürstenbau” courtyard. The Fürstenbau is a palatial building built in the Barock style with historical cellar vaults, a garden pavilion and the fountain statues of Jacob van der Auvera.

Afterwards, we went into the nearby organic market and did some shopping. All in all, we were probably only in town for two hours, but it was a nice trial run. One valuable lesson we learned? Trying to take the bus home at 6pm on a Saturday is potentially disastrous with a pram. We got lucky in that we got on at a stop early enough on the route out of town and found a spot for our stroller, but the bus was packed and there were other people with prams who wanted to get on at later stops and struggled to find space. I’m hoping at some point soon to get the hang of wearing the little guy in a carrier, and I figure that might make short trips into town during busy times (when we don’t do too much shopping) a little easier.

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

