Flower Power

I thought do a quick post and share photos of the new flowers we bought for our balcony for this summer.

So far, these plants are probably doing the best out of any that we’ve purchased over the last three years. The first two years we bought our flowers from a local garden center, and while I would normally prefer to support a local business over a chain, we spotted the hot pink ones in a chain hardware store’s garden department last month and I had to have them. They’re called Celosia Caracas, and they’re the same flower I bought for our boxes during our first summer in Würzburg. Those flowers did well that summer, and I loved the way they looked, so when I spotted them at Hornbach I didn’t want to pass up the opportunity to have them again. I would have bought them last year, too, but when we went to the local garden shop they didn’t have any so we ended up buying begonias instead (and they were all pretty much dead within a couple of months. Not happy little campers). I didn’t want to risk holding out for the garden shop in case they didn’t have them again, plus these were even bigger and plusher than the ones we had bought that first year.

Since we were buying the Celosia Caracas at Hornbach, the Mr. wanted to go ahead and get all of the flowers from the same place. So we picked out the white Chrysanthemums, as well as the little green and white plants called Euonymus ‘Emerald Gaiety.’

The Mr. planted them in their boxes this year, and he claims that’s why they’re thriving. I think these plants may just be hardier than ones we’ve had in the past, and are all varieties that seem to like the conditions of our balcony. We already knew the Celosia would do well based on that first summer. It helps, too, that all the plants were nice and big and lush (except from the Euonymus, which are growing nicely) when we bought them. But I won’t burst the Mr.’s bubble if it means he’ll plant them again next year 😉

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flower Power

  1. Bonnie says:

    They look great!

Leave a Reply

