Sweet and Sour

As predicted, I don’t think my test today went so well. I try to console myself with the knowledge that it “doesn’t really matter,” but knowing this doesn’t help me feel any less frustrated with the hours I spent over this past weekend reviewing. It wasn’t enough. I knew it wasn’t enough (having not spent the recommended TWO HOURS every day outside of class they tell you should be learning),but I still hoped I wouldn’t find the test too difficult. I took a practice A2 test from another language school online and didn’t do too badly on that one, but it seemed a lot easier than the one I just took.

Oh, well.

I consoled myself after the test with a scoop of Tiramisu ice cream and walking around the town’s biggest bookstore for an hour. Bookstores never fail to cheer me up. I even looked at a few books with German words inside.

I’ll leave you with a few photos from a recent foraging adventure where we looked for blackberries, or brambles, as the Brits like to call them. They were some of the most delicious I’ve ever had.

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sweet and Sour

  1. Bonnie says:

    Whenever I see blackberries, I always think of mosquitoes. Do you guys have mosquitoes there?

  2. Regina Scott says:

    Beautiful pictures was this in Germany, or England? By the way, I understand from friends that German is a VERY difficult and complex language (even with various “levels” of German) so I admire your efforts, regardless of how the test might have gone!:o)

    • Thanks! They were taken here in Wuerzburg, near the university. I guess any language is difficult if you don’t learn it as a child, but I’d have to agree – German is a bit trickier than some! With German, every object has a gender, and the entire correct structure of the sentence depends on getting that right! It’s a lot to remember and process, especially in conversation.

  3. fenella says:

    On Tuesday in the back garden, we harvested the whole bed of potatoes. It was terribly exciting and rewarding for next to no effort at all. We never weeded that patch. Just stuck them in and left em. 6 of us divided up the spoils and I think I got 2 or 3 kgs. A grocery-bag half full. All different sizes.

    Sadly, some twit has stripped half the unripe plums from one of the two plum trees and we’re afraid we won’t get much of the apple or plum trees because of vandals. Very depressing. We’re talking about netting all the produce next year to prevent this a bit more.

    • I did okay. Better than I thought I would, anyway. I think I managed to get the equivalent of something in the B-range, though the German grading system is different from the US one so I’m not entirely sure. I could have done better, though, had I studied more throughout the module rather than cramming at the end. I’m going to try and be more disciplined before the next test.

Leave a Reply

