I Feel the Earth Move

Given how this past week has been less than stellar with the news I heard on Sunday, I thought maybe I’d share something that has cheered me up a bit. To some, it might seem a silly thing to get excited about, but to me, this was an amazing discovery of world-rocking magnitude.

I should first explain that we don’t own a car. I know a lot of my American friends gasp at this idea, but really, given that we live basically in the city center and there’s good public transportation, it’s not really necessary. We rent cars when we need to, and for us at the moment, this is perfect. Now, the only tricky part of not owning a car is that I have to go shopping just about every other day. I can only carry/haul so much at a time, so it means we have to make frequent trips to buy small amounts. At the moment, I go to class every weekday so it’s no problem to stop and pick up what I need before I go home; but when I’m at home, there’s only one small grocery store within a 10-minute walk from where I live.

Until now, that is.

We’ve discovered ANOTHER grocery store within a 10-minute walk from our house. No, that sentence didn’t really have the impact it should have. Let’s try again: There is another grocery store within a 10-minute walk from our house that we didn’t know existed until a few days ago after living here for MORE THAN A YEAR.  And hold onto your socks because it gets better, baby! Not only is there now a second grocery store for me to shop at, but it’s actually a pretty big one, too. In addition to all the normal stuff, it has a fantastic speciality item section with all sorts of delicatessen-type products from around the world. And it even has – you guessed it – an American section.

Look what I found:

The Mr. had to watch me literally do a little dance of joy when we discovered these items. Granted, the mac-n-cheese isn’t Kraft, and I haven’t tried it yet so I can’t say whether it’s any good, but given that it’s actually been imported from the US my guess is that it’s at least pretty similar. Now if I could just convince them to carry Milano cookies and Cheetos, too….

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Feel the Earth Move

  1. You have to go into the new store and shoot a pic of the inside from the front door and add it to your post!

  2. Pingback: Ask and Ye Shall Receive « The Grass is Always Grüner

  3. Pingback: Sweet Rides and Summer Drives | The Grass is Always Grüner

Leave a Reply

