Our Friends Pretty Much Rock

A package arrived for us yesterday, and both the Mr. and I were dumbfounded as to what it could be. It came from Scotland. We didn’t order anything from Scotland. And it was heavy.

Completely puzzled, I started shredding the tape that sealed the box and pulled out an envelope. Enclosed was a letter from one half of the couple who recently came to stay with us for a few days:

“Hopefully the enclosed made it to you in one piece. They’re to replace the one in your fridge that was spawning a new life form!”

I read over it a couple of times, and finally it dawned on me what was enclosed. And I squealed with glee, my friends, I squealed.

Most delicious beer EVER.

You see, back before we moved to Germany, I decided that one of the most important things I needed to stock up on before we left Scotland was my favorite beer, Innis & Gunn. I greedily bought several bottles and we drank them all over the course of the past year, except one. I saved one precious bottle back, waiting for the special occasion that would warrant me popping it open. But sadly, no one ever told me that fine beer isn’t quite like fine wine. It doesn’t improve with age. In fact, it doesn’t age well at all. It apparently goes off and starts to have strange, alien-like cloudy formations floating inside that dance around when you tip it. It was a sad day, indeed, when I realized that my clingy love for the Innis & Gunn had actually killed it. Still, I held onto it, hoping that perhaps the cloudy formations might disappear…or maybe start to talk to me. Who knows.

Anyway, when our friends came to visit, we went over the contents of all the various beers in our fridge: hefeweizen, Pilsner (pale lager), alcohol-free pilsner, radler, alcohol-free radler and the sad, mutated Innis & Gunn. I told our friends the tragic story of how my selfish love had ruined the poor little thing, and yet how I still couldn’t bare to let go.

Well, now it’s time for you to hit the drain, baby, ’cause Momma’s got a new set of friends to keep her company! (But only for a limited time, of course…I know understand that to truly love and cherish a beer, I must set it free. In my belly.)

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Our Friends Pretty Much Rock

  1. cliff1976 says:

    How do you feel about the chunks of coagulated yeast that can build up in Hefeweizen bottles? Strain ’em out, or swirl ’em up out of the bottle and into your glass for bready beer joy?

  2. We actually don’t drink hefeweizen beer very often because it’s so heavy (basically a liquid loaf of bread), but I try to embrace yeasty swirls when I do drink it 🙂 Hey – do you think that’s what’s going on with my Innis & Gunn? Yeasty swirls of goodness rather than an alien lifeform??

  3. cliff1976 says:

    Come to Regensburg for a visit sometime and sample some of the regional specialities while grilling a sausage or burger patty on a sunny evening on our island in the middle of the Danube, and if you like the beer, you can skip the bun. 😉

    I’m sorry to say I have never had the pleasure of an Innis & Gunn, so I couldn’t say whether your old bottle is going through a renaissance (eww) or merely a flavor concentration (yum).

    But since it’s a low-availability beverage, I’d definitely give it a sniff and a sip before tossing it wholesale down the drain, if I were you.

    • Mmmm….grilled meaty goodness…I read about your new grill, and it sounds great! We just bought a little charcoal one that is fun, but not nearly as practical for wanting to grill on a regular basis. Anyway, Regensburg is definitely on the “to-visit” list, and it would be great to meet you and Sarah in person 🙂

      p.s. I have mixer envy. Your Kitchenaid is fab!

  4. Fenella says:

    So pleased it made it. I had nothing to do with it (I say proudly since it’s nice that hubby thinks of these things). He did it all himself.

    Loved seeing you and your environs. Have just finished the bag of rose gummies. Have a few left of the berry gummies. May suffer similar withdrawal as you and your Innis & Gunn. Keep meaning to share photos. Something to do today, … after I’ve watched another episode of the original The Office.

    • Yes, kudos to him as it was most thoughtful and very appreciated!!

      I will definitely bring gummy goodness for you when I come to London (let me know if you have any specific requests about what kind), but I can also ship some if withdrawl symptoms start to kick in before then! Just let me know 🙂

      p.s. Come to think of it, I’m also suffering withdrawl symptoms from you guys. Can you ship yourselves back here?!

  5. Bonnie says:

    How lovely of them! I love your idea of setting the beer free in your belly. I feel much the same way about dark chocolate.

  6. Lindsey says:

    That’s a great story. So glad they arrived safely and intact!

  7. Holly, here’s hoping you’ve found some fantastic German beers too. If so, lemme know what your faves are.

    Be well!

Leave a Reply

