Eight Days a Week

Is it really March already? Sheesh, time flies when you’re having fun taking an intensive language course.  As predicted, the class has sort of taken over my life to some extent and pushed other things (like blogs) to the side.  So between my classes, family visits and resumed shopping trips to Ikea, there hasn’t been a whole lot of time to write.  But here’s the latest progress report:

Language class: It’s going well. Fairly well. Mmmm, okay….the first few weeks were pretty easy as a lot of it was review for me. I even scored the highest grade on our first test. But I’m not patting myself on the back too much as I know the reason for this was mostly due to the fact that I had studied it a bit back in Scotland. And now we’re definitely heading into unchartered territory and I feel it’s getting harder to keep up.  Apparently they expect us to spend 2 hours outside of class EVERY DAY doing our homework and memorizing and reviewing, but I spend no more than a half hour to 45 minutes at best.  It surprised to hear that that was the expectation given that we already spend more than 4 hours in class every day, but it makes sense as I see how quickly we’re flying through the material.  With the difficult bits like grammar, there’s no way you can know the course material well by the time we’re already moving on to something else. We’re having a short break from classes today through Wednesday for Fasching (which I’ll tell you a bit more in my next post), and I return to class on Thursday and then finish up this module on Wednesday of next week. Then I’m taking a two-month long break so the Mr. and I can go on holiday. On the one hand, I’m sort of nervous about such a long break in the middle of my course. On the other, I’m thinking it might be a good opportunity to really learn all the material we’ve just covered rather than immediately moving on to new stuff.  That is, if I take the time and make the effort to do so during my break. And that’s a big if, considering we’re going on vacation during at least part of it.

The flat: Firstly, we’ve ordered an oven with a stove – hurray! We’re hoping maybe it will arrive this week, and then the Mr. can figure out how to install it in the Ikea unit we purchased. The plan will be to then call an electrician to hook it up. Once that’s taken care of, the next step will be cabinets. I think we’ve pretty much decided on which style we want, so hopefully those will be relatively straight-forward. I reminded the Mr. of a conversation we had back when we were flat-hunting. It went somewhere along the lines of  “It’s okay if we get a flat without a kitchen, but I do not want to be sitting in this flat a year later with no completed kitchen. That’s a nightmare situation.” Ha, yes, well it won’t be a year that we’ve lived here until May, but we are slowly creeping up on that date….But with the cooker we borrowed from family, it’s been pretty manageable. I’ve mostly just missed frozen pizza.

Now, moving along to the lounge, we’ve shifted the kitchen table that was in the entrance room to this room where it now sits in between the big Besta unit and the sofas. We had done so initially to accommodate family that was coming to stay, but we decided that actually we quite liked having it there. The Mr. has worked on it some on his computer meaning we can hang out in the same room even when we’re both on our computers, and it also makes sense as a much nicer place to sit in general when eating something versus the darker entrance room. So we’re pretty sure it’s going to stay put.

The Mr. went on his own to Ikea recently and purchased another, smaller Besta unit to go along another wall in the lounge. He also purchased a light to go above it. We decided it made sense to get another unit as we needed some more storage space, and it will be useful if in the future we need to arrange the unit differently to accommodate a television set. Now we have a balanced, matching set of units that can go on either side.

What else have we been up to? Well, yesterday we attended the Fasching parade in town which was really enjoyable. In my next post, I’ll tell you a bit about it and post some photos. But now I had better get some housework done. I may get a break from language school, but sadly Hausfraus never get a break from cleaning duties. Das is verboten!

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eight Days a Week

  1. Bonnie says:

    I’m glad you’re getting a break from class and excited to hear more about your holiday!

  2. Lindsey says:

    Flat looks lovely. Love the photo updates and can’t wait to see it in person someday!

Leave a Reply

