A Beginning

This past week has been both exciting and tiring – I’m finally studying German! Huzzah!

So far, it’s going really well. We’re moving at a slow pace covering the basics, most of which I already know. At times it can be a bit boring as we cover the same things again and again, but I know that when we get further along into unfamiliar territory I’ll be thankful. The class I took in Edinburgh moved much more quickly, and at that time everything was new to me so I felt lost pretty often. It feels good to now be the confident person in class knowing most of the answers. But as I told my classmate Sara from Australia (who is totally new to German), my slight edge probably isn’t going to last for long!

My classmates come from literally all over the world: the Dominican Republic, Turkey, Australia, Russia, Albania, Honduras, Morocco, and Iceland. The language school’s approach to teaching is total immersion, which means no other language than German can be spoken during class time. It makes teaching something like grammar, for example, a bit difficult, but it’s only fair as not everyone in the class knows English.

While the class itself is fairly easy at this point, I’m surprised by how exhausted I now feel all the time. I’m only a week in, and I’m having a hard time imagining doing this every day for months to come. It’s not even mental exhaustion so much as physical. I’ve been spoiled this past year by getting 9 or 10 hours of sleep a night, so my body isn’t quite sure how to function with only 7 or 7.5 (and I know many of you reading this are probably going “7 hours of sleep – I’d kill for that!”) Even though the class doesn’t last the entire day, I’m finding it a struggle to want to do anything other than what’s totally necessary (e.g. some cooking and the dishes) when I get home. So the flat is sort of a mess. And it will be for the next six months, I think. (My newly developed inner Hausfrau is shuddering at this thought.)  I guess it’ll be back to the old Edinburgh days of spending my weekends cleaning, which sort of sucks, but what can one do? I’ve tried to convince Mia numerous times that she should do more to pull her weight around here, but she just flips out on me whenever I try to tie a feather duster to her tail. Oh well, at least I have a nifty dishwasher now….

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Beginning

  1. Lindsey says:

    Very proud of your language study! Immersion is the way to go. How many people are in your class? Are they all in it for 6 months as well? Can’t wait to hear more.

    • Our class has actually grown in the past couple days, so we now have 13 including me. I think they allow classes of up to 18, so it’s still an okay size. But no – not all are in it for six months. Only a few are, actually. And I’m going to take a scheduled break in a couple months’ time, so I’ll have to join a new class when I return.

  2. Bonnie says:

    Congratulations! It sounds like class will be really helpful. It must be hard to adjust to such a different schedule, but it will definitely be worth it.

  3. Pingback: It’s All Too Much « The Grass is Always Grüner

Leave a Reply

