What Goes On

The path to Käppele

The last couple of weeks have been quiet, enjoyable ones. The Mr. has been resting up before returning to work, and I’ve been gearing up to begin my intensive language course. We had some lovely, long walks around the city and yesterday enjoyed walking up to Käppele, a church that survived the 1945 bombing is now in the care of the Order of the Friars Minor Capuchin. It sits on a hill overlooking the city and is one of Würzburg’s most recognizable landmarks.

We also attempted (sort of) to go sledding one day while the snow was still covering the ground (temperatures only *just* warmed up yesterday melting all the snow. It’s been on the ground since Thanksgiving, I think!) I say “attempted” as we had no proper sled. The Mr. thought perhaps we could fabricate one using an Ikea bag and a yoga block. A nice idea, but sadly it was a colossal fail. If only we had had a lunchroom tray like we used to use back at DePauw….

We also watched (and are still watching) several documentaries. The Mr. picked out “The Story of India” last year as a Christmas gift, and it was a highly enjoyable and enlightening exploration of a fascinating country. I’ve only been to New Delhi (briefly) and Dharamsala (for a month), all the while focussing on Tibetan culture, but I’d enjoy returning at some point to see more of and learn more about India. The documentary also tied in nicely with two novels I’ve been reading, Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie, and Brick Lane by Monica Ali. The other documentary series I’m currently in love with is Simon Reeve’s Tropic of Cancer. Reeve is journeying around the world along the Tropic of Cancer, uncovering “environmental, political and human stories from some of the most remote places on the planet.” It’s fascinating, beautiful and at times heart wrenching. Going about our daily lives, it’s so easy to forget how privileged and lucky we are compared to most, and how we are but a small part of a much larger world.

Apart from the long walks and documentaries, we did make a bit of progress on the flat over the holidays. The Mr. went through some boxes in the office/guest room so we were able to clear a few more of those out, and we’ve ordered a new dishwasher and vacuum cleaner. The cabinets and cooker/oven will have to wait a bit longer, but apart from lacking storage space, it’s not too much of an annoyance. We’ve borrowed a small, portable cooker which makes a world of difference (i.e. I can make pasta again – hurray!)

And this evening I’ve taken the ornaments off the tree, and the Mr. will carry it outside soon where it will be picked up by the city tomorrow morning for composting. Somehow, I never feel quite ready for Christmas to end. I wish there was another big holiday in January after New Year’s Eve (which is so close to Christmas it really can’t count) to make this winter month a little more enjoyable. (January birthday people: your moms were genius for having you in January – it’s never a boring month for you!) But the lack of anything exciting to look forward to in my own life in January has me thinking: what if I were to invent my own holiday? I mean, why not? Who’s to say I can’t, right? It would definitely include good food, family & friends. But what else? What would you add if you “invented” your own holiday?

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What Goes On

  1. Lindsey says:

    I took my Christmas tree down today too! Always sad to do. But I left up some white fairy lights around the window and door in the living room. They make me happy – especially when it’s cold and dark. I think any January holiday I created would include a day off work, yummy food traditions, and something bright and cheerful to decorate – maybe lots of candles??

    • We also thought about leaving up some lights, but ours are a sort of cool, almost metallic blue. I like them, and I think they do go nicely with the glittery and vintage-style ornaments I put on the tree this year, but somehow they don’t really “warm” up the place the way that white lights do. I would love to get some of those twinkly, tiny white lights and put them up like you’ve described. And yes – candles for my January holiday are a good idea!

  2. fenella says:

    I was going to say lots of candles because it’s the dimness and short days that need brightening up.
    You need traditions: like snow angels, snow forts, snowball fights, and snowsledding. Certain movies that you watch, music that you listen to. You could write poems to fit the occasion too.
    Plus the good food, friends and family!

    • Oooh, a poem to commemorate my holiday – I like that! I guess first I need to decide what its theme will be, though =) And I also like the idea of music. I really wish there was more “winter”-themed music that didn’t have to do with Christmas. Winter Wonderland is just about the only song I can think of….

  3. Bonnie says:

    We de-Christmased our house on Saturday. It took a long time, but it was almost a relief to have it finished (esp. after Andrew vacuumed the next day.) I agree that having a January b-day brightens up the month, but it’s difficult to get all my presents in one month (Dec. 25 – Jan. 24) and then have 11 long months before celebrating again! Then again, it’s great to have a good excuse to eat as many pancakes as I want during this long, cold, dark month. Hooray for pancakes!

Leave a Reply

