I Should Have Known Better

Buddhism teaches that we must work towards detachment, i.e., a state in which a person overcomes his or her attachment to desire for things, people or concepts of the world to be able to attain a heightened perspective.

So I’m wondering if perhaps the universe thought I needed a swift kick in the butt today after glowingly talking about my favorite things yesterday. Maybe like a  “wake up call” that I need to do some work in the “detachment from material objects”  department?

My wallet was stolen earlier today. Although I can be a little flighty and have a tendency to lose things, I’m pretty sure I didn’t lose it and it was, in fact, stolen. I rather stupidly went against all the good advice I used to give to my students in Scotland and made it easy by putting it in a front pocket on my backpack, so I blame myself to some extent. But he/she didn’t get any money (I only had change – sucka!) and we’ve immediately cancelled all credit and banking cards. So for the person who stole it, it was a lot of risk with little to no reward. But I am really ticked that 1) they got my Indiana driver’s license which is perhaps going to be the biggest pain in the butt of all to replace, and 2) I absolutely loved – no, adored – the wallet itself. The wallet was from one of my favorite Scottish stores called Ness. It was a lovely pink tartan material and looked a little like this, only in pink:

I know it’s not healthy, or helping me to reach an enlightened state, to love a wallet this much, but I can’t help it. It’s tartan. And pink. Pink tartan, people! Big sigh.

I have this hope, albeit a tiny one, that perhaps the mean person who stole my wallet will at least be kind enough to ditch it somewhere an honest person can find it, i.e. not a rubbish bin.  And maybe then I’ll be reunited with both the wallet and driver’s license again, which would go a long way to making me a happier girl.  But if the universe doesn’t want it, I guess I’ll work on the detachment thing. And trying to figure out a way to get a new driver’s license.

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Should Have Known Better

  1. Bonnie says:

    I don’t blame the universe. I blame the asshole who stole it.

  2. Lindsey says:

    Yuck! I know exactly the wallet you are talking about. It’s ok to miss the wallet more than anything else. I’m sure you can get another one next time you are in Edinburgh. Ness has all kinds of lovely things.

  3. Robin says:

    I just don’t think the Buddha knew about pink tartan when he said that. 😉

  4. Pingback: Can’t Buy Me Love? As if! « The Grass is Always Grüner

  5. fenella says:

    Darling, why not commission your dear friend in Edinburgh to replace it? I’d be happy to drop by Ness and get you a knew one.

    There are more irreplaceable things in life than a Ness purse.

  6. Pingback: Besançon, France’s “secret city” « The Grass is Always Grüner

Leave a Reply

