Come and Get It

So I was going through some of our boxes this evening (boy, that was fun…”oh, cool – I had totally forgotten we had that/this!”) and I discoverd a JUMBO bag of  these:

I impulsively ripped one open and took a bite. Still good! But I was actually in the middle of drinking a glass of this:

For those of you unfamiliar with the deliciousness that is Hefeweizen, it’s an unfiltered German wheat beer. It’s not a beer I usually drink as it’s quite heavy and filling (a little like Guiness…one of these could substitute for your dinner), but we had a bottle in the fridge and for some reason a glass sounded really good.

Now I had planned to drink my Hefeweizen while eating  this: 

This is a German laugenstange, or pretzel stick. It’s basically a traditional German soft preztel only in stick form, so it’s a bit smaller and you get less salt. Now beer and pretzels go together like rama lama lama ke ding a de dinga a dong, but for some reason – call it a psychic premonition – I knew I had to take a bite of the Reese’s cup and then take a sip of the beer. The verdict? De-lish. Maybe further research needs to be conducted on German-American food pairings….

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Come and Get It

  1. Bonnie says:

    It’s a difficult job, but somebody has to do it! Thanks for taking the risk and letting us know the results of your experiment.

  2. fenella says:

    all i can say is YUCK!!

Leave a Reply

