It Won’t Be Long Now

By popular request (okay, just from Linz =) ) I thought I’d post a few photos of the flat in its current state. As I’m sure I’ve said a million times, it’s by no means finished, but there has been some progress since the orginal photos I posted. I’ll focus just on the back part of the flat for this entry, and will try to take some photos of the front in the next week.

The kitchen, I think, will come together fairly nicely once we get cabinets, etc. And I have pink and gray orchid blossom decals that will go into the bathroom once we’ve determined whether or not we’re able to install another cabinet. But I’m feeling a little stumped on how to make the loo more interesting. I could go the decal route like I’m planning to do throughout much of the flat, but I’m not quite sure what sort of decal and style would make sense. At the moment, all I have for inspiration is a duck bar of soap and a papier-mâché fish. So any ideas, throw them my way!

Here we go….

The view when you walk into the kitchen. New island, sink and to the left a stove/oven unit.

Sink and "tea nook"

Close-up of "tea nook"

Kitchen island

Rose from our garden

Fridge =)

The loo. It's sort of long and skinny, so I'm not sure how to decorate it.

Notice the water heater under the sink. If we hadn't complained and asked for one, we would have only cold water with which to wash our hands. Yuck.

Bathroom. The only room that's just about finished except for a possible cabinet and decals that will go above the tiles.

The big projects for me at the moment are trying to decide which decals to get for our bedroom, guest room/office and the lounge, as well as deciding on a storage unit for the lounge. I love vinyl decals as they really add character to a room, but I am concerned about the fact that we won’t be able to take them with us when we move. Most are removable, but not reusable, and the ones I’m interested in range in cost from about $60 to $150. What do you think? Would you invest, say, $300 in decorations you know you can’t take with you?

P.S. I’ve decided I’m crap at coming with up titles for entries, so see if you can guess my inspiration….

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It Won’t Be Long Now

  1. Bonnie says:

    Your flat is looking really good! Did you notice your rose matches your bathroom rugs?

    • Thanks! Actually, the rugs in the bathroom are hot pink, and the rose is red. But I agree that they pretty much look the same in the photos. Not sure whether I should blame the camera or the lighting…it’s a new camera, so we’ll blame the lighting 😉

  2. Fenella says:

    Much better!

    What about an oven/stove top? Methods of cooking stuff and baking cupcakes?

    Seems like you guys will be around for a while so go for buying decent decor to make you happy. Or make your own somehow. Get out your paints and become creative.

    F

    • The oven and the stove are coming, just not until after Christmas. He doesn’t have the time/energy to work on ordering anything for the kitchen right now, so we agreed he’ll get to it over Christmas break. This weekend we’re going to work on buying storage for the lounge, however, so that’ll tide me over ’til then!

  3. Lindsey says:

    Yay! Thanks for the photos, Holly. The place looks amazing. I especially love the tea nook. I agree that you should decorate with what you really like. I mean, you’re investing a lot in the furniture for the rest of the house – like the kitchen island, for instance – and you’re not sure it’ll fit/work in the next place you move, right? Why not apply the same to the decorations? You’ll be in the flat several years, at least, right?

    • Thanks! It’s a work in progress, but at least we’re making progress =) I think I’ve decided on what decals I’m ordering. I’ve managed to find ones that are slightly cheaper versions of some of the ones I really loved, so that should help bring the total cost down. And yes, I imagine we’ll probably be here at least another four or five years, so I guess in that time I won’t care as much about having $60 on a decal I have to leave behind.

  4. Lindsey says:

    But, no, I don’t know the inspiration for the post title. A song lyric perhaps?

Leave a Reply

