Planes, Pains & a Hospital Bill

It’s been a while since I’ve last posted, but that’s not for lack of things happening. During my absence, The Mr. and I travelled to Indiana, and he then got sick. Actually, “sick” is a bit of an understatement as he actually had to have an emergency appendectomy. We weren’t really sure what was wrong with him, but it was 2am, he was in a lot of pain, and an emergency room sounded like a good idea. Thank goodness we did take him as things could have gotten a whole lot worse had we not. They operated on him that morning, and he spent a total of almost two full days there. What’s been perhaps the most interesting part of this entire experience is discovering just how much two days in an American hospital for an appendectomy costs these days. The price tag?  Well, we don’t know for certain yet, but after a few phone calls we think the final total may be close to $20,000. We have travel insurance that should cover everything, but we were really shocked to discover just how high medical costs have skyrocketed in this country. I seriously had no idea. And the thought of being uninsured? Utterly terrifying. The Mr. said even though he is certain we will, never, EVER, forget to purchase travel insurance when travelling to US from now on, he’s still sort of freaked out at the thought of coming back and possibly not being covered for some reason.  Nooo, there’s no need for health care reform in the US. That’s just silly talk.

Around the time The Mr. started feeling better from surgery, I came down with either a mild stomach virus or food poisoning. I wasn’t deathly ill, but did run a little fever and felt pretty poorly for a few days. And that’s pretty much how our vacation together in Indiana has gone. It’s sort of a bummer, but at least it means The Mr.’s taken plenty of time to rest and recharge, which can be difficult to get him to do.

This one might not go down in the record books as “best vacation ever”….

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Planes, Pains & a Hospital Bill

  1. fenella says:

    oh dear. i’m really sorry that you and Tom haven’t been well, but i’m really glad you’re getting better.
    (you should put in a tag “health care reform”)

    In my news, the tram project’s not going well – our civil contractor partner has laid off 36 people and things are getting very serious. I chopped my hair off above my ears on Saturday while Mark was away in Prague. I’ve been watching Alfred Hitchcock movies (Birds, To Catch a Thief, North by Northwest). I’m trying to buck up the courage to pay for a membership to the Sunday Brunch Club. Their book club meets on Wednesday and I’ve already read the book for it, The Talented Mr Ripley. I’m getting shy again. Caroline’s visa situation looks a bit more positive. She’ll still be here on 21 October (when her original ousting date was) when I go down to London for a meeting and then stay with her and spend the weekend visiting Claudia in Bath and visiting nearby National Trust properties. Claudia dithered back and forth over whether to go back to uni for Masters or not, finally deciding yes, then dithered between Glasgow and Bath. Bath has the better qualification, but Glasgow is cheaper and she likes the big city better. So finally she’s settled on Bath.

    That’s the craic from here. Hope you’re both continuing to improve and enjoy your time in autumnal Indiana. (When i first read your post i thought you said you were in India, which surprised me a little, until you began talking about American hospital bills.)

    much love, Fenella

    • Good suggestion on the tag – will do!

      Ah, the tram project…oh, dear. We had heard some rumblings that the project is in trouble…please drop me an email and tell me your job is safe??

      I want to see this haircut – wow! Post some photos on FB, please =) Maybe your returning shyness is pushing you to try daring new things with your hair? It’s a theory.

      I’m very jealous of your trip to London to see Caroline, and the trip to Bath. Claudia actually gave me a call back in Germany before leaving for Indiana, and it was really nice to chat with her. The programme sounds great. Say hi to them both and give them big hugs from me. Miss you all!

  2. Lindsey says:

    I’m so THANKFUL you purchased travel insurance. When I started reading I sincerely hoped that was the case. I hope you make it safely back to Germany with no more mishaps!

  3. Lindsey says:

    To follow along with Fenella, perhaps “travel insurance” would be a useful tag too. I know when I lived in the UK and enjoyed universal healthcare for the first time, travel insurance was something that never occurred to me. Thankfully nothing adverse happened my first several trips.

  4. cliff1976 says:

    Health insurance coverage for while you’re traveling abroad is suprisingly cheap. I have worldwide coverage for two adults living in Germany for like 20€ a year. Never had to use it so far. It was at the recommendation of friends who knew an American who was home visiting and needed an emergency appendectomy and DIDN’T have international medical coverage.

  5. Killian says:

    Yeah, the price of health care in the US is very expensive; especially when emergency rooms are involved. I’m glad you didn’t have to pay the 20k price tag. Travel insurance is top priority when I travel. I’d recommend HCC Atlas international travel series. It can cost around a buck a day or even less. It even has provisions for home country coverage. If anyone is interested in contact info; I have a link – https://www.quote-and-apply.com/atlasprof/?referid . KEEP ON TREKKIN’!

Leave a Reply

