A Market, Tasty Veg and Wine

Despite being unemployed, I’m rarely bored. Here’s what we’ve been up to:

Bad Wimpfen

On Sunday of this past weekend, the Mr.  and I decided to head to a very picturesque medieval village near where his parents live called Bad Wimpfen. Over the weekend, they had a medieval market set up in the town center. There were all sorts of vendors and craftsmen, ranging from a blacksmith to a tanner (that area of the market was “fragrant,” to say the least) to a herbalist. We met up with his father and sisters and their families and walked around together.

While there, we enjoyed fresh fruit juice and a sort of “veggie pizza.” We also bought two metal letter stamps from one vendor, an “h” and an “f.” Look out for them on future post from me.

After the medieval market, we went to the Mr.’s parents’ house where had a nice time visiting with everyone. His mother had prepared a delicious dinner for everyone. Seriously: when I grow up, I want to cook like my mother-in-law. They’re vegetarian and she makes the most creative and delicious things. I dream of having an arsenal of great vegetarian dishes that I can easily and quickly prepare like her. I know it won’t happen overnight or magically, but I feel ready to have a kitchen again so that I can at least try to become a better cook.

The other fun excursion we had recently was to Wuerzburg’s “Weinparade,” happening in the market square until this Sunday. Sadly, there’s no actual parade (at least, not that I know of) but you can sample local cuisine and wine under tents owned by different wineries and restaurants. I had potato dumplings (a little like gnocchi but drier and in the shape of bullets) over a bed of spinach. The Mr. had 5 small sausages and sauerkraut. We shared. I also tried a dry Silvaner wine. We considered having gelato for dessert, but the weather’s taken a fall-like turn in chilliness, so a hot Nutella crepe sounded like a better idea. Anyway, I’ve convinced the Mr. that we should go to the Weinparade at least once more before the tents come down on Sunday. I’d like to try another type of wine.

Perhaps it’s appropriate that this is the Mr.’s new favorite photo of me:

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Market, Tasty Veg and Wine

  1. Lindsey says:

    I didn’t realize your in-laws lived so close. How long of a drive is it the their house? Also, I love that you and Tom plan some cultural trip basically every weekend. It inspires me to try to dig up interesting things to do near where I live!

    • It takes us about an hour on the autobahn. It’s nice because one of his sisters and her family also live fairly close to this parents, so we should have lots of opportunities to see them.

  2. cliff1976 says:

    Do you like sweet whites as well?

    There’s a grape variety called a Huxelrebe from the Würzburg region that we learned about over 5 years ago and have only seen once or twice since. The guy who introduced us to it buys directly from the winery since it’s so rare to see it in stores. Sometimes even the finer wine shop staff haven’t heard of it.

    Did you by chance notice it at the Weinparade?

    • I do like sweet wines, Cliff. I have to admit that I don’t remember seeing this one on the couple of wine lists we looked over, but I also wasn’t looking for it. I’ll keep an eye out for it in future and will definitely try it if I get the chance!

  3. fenella says:

    looks like you have your chin embedded in a giant wine glass. lovely!

    i’d love the medieval market. you should buy your boots from the tanner!! totally unique and one of a kind!

    • That’s exactly what the hubby said – I should have bought winter boots from the Tanner! Only, I don’t think they had any warm fleece-filled ones on offer (plus I’m sure they would have been verrrrry expensive.)

Leave a Reply

