It’s the “Little Things,” Part 2

Let’s be honest: I’m a fairly lazy person. I’ve never been a workaholic in any context (professionally or personally) and I have no problems having a (or many) lazy day(s) sitting around the house and faffing about. Sadly, these lazy tendencies also extend to my ambition in the kitchen.

I’ve never had much interest in cooking, even from a young age. I used to do baking projects in 4-H, but to be honest, it was more about getting to eat whatever my mom and I made rather than enjoying the actual process of learning to cook something. At some point, I realized why bother making it yourself when someone else can make it just as well (if not better)?

Of course, I’m not 10 anymore, and it’s a little pathetic that an adult of my age is so absolutely rubbish in the kitchen. The excuse I’ve used for the past few years is that I’m too exhausted to do anything in the kitchen while working full-time, which I guess is sort of legit only if I don’t consider that I have lots of friends who also work full-time and somehow manage to concoct culinary masterpieces in their free time. Now I no longer have that excuse as I’m a Hausfrau, but for a limited time I can trump the “full-time employment” problem with the “we have no oven or stove top” problem. And hey – THAT’S a pretty good excuse, isn’t it? I have ambitions that once we do have a real, fully loaded kitchen again I will have the time, energy and desire to do some more cooking, but we’ll see.

So here’s the thing…as someone who historically hasn’t done much cooking nor who can try to do anything more at the moment, figuring out what to eat is a challenge. We’ve been getting by with a rotation of bread, sliced veggies and cold cuts, or Asian noodles with added frozen vegetables. And that’s about it. Having a microwave and kettle is great, but there’s only so much that can be prepared with those things. And that’s where – historically – I would look to the wonderful world of take-out food to add some variety to life. Sadly, Würzburg doesn’t want to provide this for me.

My guess is that had we moved to Hamburg, I wouldn’t be lodging this particular complaint right now because there’s undoubtedly more options, but here in Würzburg, the take-out food options are very, very limited. The Mr. tells me that, in general, Germans don’t have take-out food the way that Americans and Brits do on a regular basis. I didn’t want to believe him until I googled it and discovered just how dire our take-out food options really are:

Option 1: Pizza Express

Before all my UK friends get excited for me, this Pizza Express is nothing like the one back in the UK. No, imagine instead that you can get just about every different type of food available (Italian, Asian, Mexican, etc.) all from under one roof. Sounds great, doesn’t it? And if the food was good, it would be. Sadly, this is not so much the case. It’s like they’ve tried to fill a gap in the market with every type of take-out food that is usually available, and as a result, none of it tastes particularly good. We’ve only tried a couple Asian dishes and pizza from this business so maybe the Mexican food is fantastic and we just don’t know it, but somehow I doubt this is the case….

Option 2: Other pizza places

There are two other take-out/delivery places in the city that have pizza. One of them is close to us (I don’t actually know whether or not they have delivery – we’ve always picked it up) and it’s so-so. The crust is pre-made and tastes a bit of cardboard, but if you put enough fresh veggies and cheese on top of anything it’ll become reasonably edible. The other joint, Joey’s, definitely delivers but we haven’t tried it yet. I don’t have very high hopes.

And that’s it, as far as I know.

Back in Edinburgh, I used to gorge myself at least once a week on Harvest Chinese food one street over from our flat (miss you, Tommy, and your delicious Prawn with Cashew Nut stir fry!), or get a green curry with tofu and vegetables from Silver Bowl a few blocks away. Or I’d go for Papa John’s pizza. We had TWO branches of Papa John’s pizza in the city – so delicious.

I’m trying to look on the bright side of what I’m feeling so far is a depressing discovery: that perhaps this lack of take-out food options will give me the swift kick in the you-know-what that finally motivates me to learn how to cook.

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s the “Little Things,” Part 2

  1. Lindsey says:

    Hmm, I love take out so that would be a real downside for me too. Are restaurants abundant and reasonably priced at least?

    • The options for eating out are pretty good, Lindsey. There are lots of excellent German restaurants that serve local dishes, as well ethnic restaurants, too. Off the top of my head, I’ve seen Greek, Italian, Thai, Chinese, and Mexican places, and I’m sure there are probably more. We tried one Greek place near where we live (it tasted really good but then I felt sort of ill all night…probably not the restaurant’s fault, though!) and a Mexican restaurant, which I thought was fairly good. I’d say prices are similar to what we’d pay back in Edinburgh. I’m thinking some of these places might do carry-out as an option, but the problem is that (except for the Greek place), they’re all pretty far away from where we live and we have no car.

  2. Sarah1976 says:

    I had the same transition upon moving here. I was working in Detroit and take out was a way of life. Then, upon becoming a Hausfrau and confronting the sadness of take-out options, I learned to cook. And now, I can barely stay out of the kitchen!

    A good way to start might be to make things that you miss. I’m a Mexican-food addict (a hint: don’t bother with Mexican restaurants in Germany), so I started trying to put together my favorites. It’s a good idea to figure out where the nearest Asian markets and the best fruit & veggie markets are. The produce in Germany can be pretty outstanding, once you get to know what’s in season.

Leave a Reply

