A bit of Earth

On Monday morning, we got up at the crack of dawn and took the rental car to a cute little garden center I had seen months ago in Hoechburg. Mission? To buy flowers for our balcony looking out into the back garden. We only had a few hours to pick everything out before we had to return the car at noon. Thankfully, the place was pretty quiet early on a Monday morning towards the end of the planting/flower season, so a kind salesperson there helped us pick out our flowers. She even potted them for us, as well, which was totally unexpected and awesome. We spent a fair amount of money on something that will only last us until October or so, but they make me smile each time I see them. And I count that as money well-spent.

I have ambitions to actually plant some flowers next year, and maybe even some veggies in our shared garden. And I dream of having my own fruit trees someday. But for now, pretty flowers brightening up my balcony will do.

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A bit of Earth

  1. Lindsey says:

    Love the flowers, and the balcony is so cute! Totally worth the money.

  2. Bonnie says:

    Ooh, I love a Secret Garden reference. You may have as much earth as you want! The flowers look beautiful. I love the long trailing vines.

  3. fenella says:

    Absolutely charming! I’m jealous you have a balcony to do that with. The best i can do is a 1.5 foot by 4inches trough by the front door that is perpetually under danger of being knicked since it’s outside on a busy street.

    I haven’t had the courage to put window boxes on the sills outside since it’s a very dangerous drop on someone’s head below.

  4. Thanks, everyone, for all the compliments. I really can’t take much credit for how pretty they look other than I picked out what I thought would look nice together. I love the combination of purple and yellow in flower arrangements.

    Fenella: I know what you mean about requiring “courage” for window boxes in Edinburgh! To be honest, it’s so windy there so often, I wouldn’t risk it either. But at least roses seem to grow beautifully in Edinburgh, and you can enjoy them as you pass by homes with gardens. My mom was so impressed with how large and healthy rose bushes are there.

    • fenella says:

      There were tons of roses in the gardens up in Aberdeenshire. I kept inhaling them. Wishing i could have gardens like those to cut flowers from and bring them inside.

      There’s a garden – looks fairly neglected – around the corner from me on the way to the gym, and there’s lavender and rosemary growing profusely through the fence onto the pavement. I’m so jealous!! I wanted to cut chunks off but it feels like stealing. So i just crush a frond in my hands and inhale the scent from the oil as i walk to or from the gym.

      You should begin a herb garden!

      • Oh, I highly recommend pinching when no one is looking. Tom and I have become quite adept at “urban foraging” on our street, knicking fruit from branches that have strayed onto the street.

        Ooh, I love the idea of an herb garden. We have some store-bought basil right now that’s actually alive and healthy – and we bought it about three weeks ago!!

Leave a Reply

