The Home Stretch

On Monday, the Mr. received an email from the agent for the art nouveau flat with the lease attached. The plan is to meet him and the owner on Friday at 2pm at the house to go over final details and sign the lease. Last week we arranged for the painters who were already working on the ceilings, etc. to go ahead and paint the walls for us too, so the flat should be ready to move into by this weekend. We still have to arrange for the moving company to deliver our things, however, so we probably won’t be able to move in until next week at the earliest. I’m a little nervous something could still go wrong when we meet the owner (we don’t exactly have a good record in these situations), but since we already know everything about the flat the Mr. won’t have to go into “inspector mode” so we should be able to avoid any catastrophes. Fingers crossed.

It’s going to be a stressful and busy next couple of weeks. This evening Mia has to go into the cat hotel and she’ll stay there until Sunday when we’re able to return to the holiday let. We’re checking into a city center hotel from tomorrow until Sunday, with the bulk of our things stored here. From Sunday, the tentative plan is to come back and stay in the holiday let until whenever the move-in date is arranged. And then, I’m Indy-bound.

I had been thinking I’d wait until June to go to Indiana so we could have longer to order a kitchen. We realized, however, that I actually have to leave Germany by the end of May to stay legal with the tourist stamp I was given when we flew in. We haven’t been able to officially register me and make me legal yet because we first needed to provide a copy of a property lease agreement (Ha! Yes, wouldn’t that be nice?) and a copy of my medical insurance coverage. Getting this arranged with an insurance company has also been a big pain in the butt 1.) Because they always seem to need more and more information, and then each time they come back with more forms they ask “has your health status changed at all?” If I say yes, I’m guessing you’ll need more information, right?  2). Because they do annoying things like charge 20 euros more per month for my coverage since I was in the hospital in August 2009. Nevermind that I was completely cleared of any problems by doctors in the UK back in November….so it’s back and forth, back and forth. Anyway, in theory we’re finally getting somewhere with being able to provide both a lease agreement and proof of insurance, so I should be able to register as a resident soon. We figure it’s probably best, however, for me to leave within the three-month tourist visa period and do it when I get back to avoid any problems.

As for the kitchen, well, we have a microwave, a toaster and a kettle and the Mr. says that’s enough to get him by until I’m back and we can take the time to order exactly the kitchen we want. I keep asking him if the above three things are really enough to get him by until July, but he seems to think so. He said he might look into buying a small, cheap fridge if things get desperate, which I have a feeling they will sooner rather than later. I mean, how is he going to store milk? And chocolate? (He likes refrigerated chocolate for some reason…I know, weird, right?) I’m kind of worried and feeling a little guilty for abandoning him right after the move to a flat full of boxes and chaos and no kitchen. He’s so busy at the moment I’m not quite sure how he’ll find the time to go food shopping, or what he’ll eat for dinner when there’s no kitchen to cook in. I have visions of him eating microwaved ramen noodles night after night and wasting away to practically nothing…well, okay, that’s not likely to happen…he likes chocolate too much to waste away . But if anyone wants to fly in and cook (or, er, heat up) some dinner for him at some point while I’m away, I’m sure he wouldn’t object.

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Home Stretch

  1. Bonnie says:

    Progress! I’m really glad the flat situation will soon be worked out. I didn’t know you were coming to Indiana this soon. Hooray!

  2. Lindsey says:

    Great news! Fingers crossed that the last few things go well with the new place. How long will you be in Indiana?

    • I haven’t booked my ticket yet, but probably from towards the end of May until earlyish July. Why do you ask? Fancy a visit to Indy?!

      • Lindsey says:

        Sadly, no, I won’t be able to take the time off work. How close are you to Chicago or a big city airport? I could always daydream about a weekend in the midwest on a cheap flight!

      • Well, boo for no time off. Chicago is the closest major airport, but I’m a total driving wuss and Chicago traffic terrifies me. It’s about 4 1/2 hours distance from Indy, I think? I’m still trying to convince Tom we should go to Florida this fall so we can visit the new Harry Potter themepark (and you, if you’re still around!).

  3. Susanne says:

    Fingers crossed for Tom and you!!!

  4. fenella says:

    I’m really pleased things are going well.

    As for the kitchen stuff, Mark and I aren’t particularly fussy. We had some particular needs to meet though that were special. You know our kitchen’s an odd shape and we wanted to utilise the height of the kitchen and have double-height cabinets. So that complicated things.

    But if you have basic needs and you go for basic stuff, i don’t see why you couldn’t go shopping now and at least select the range you want, the appliances you like, etc. A lot of things you can do right now. For example, there are three ranges of ovens that i chose from: cheapo, medium, or posh expensive. We went for the medium one. You can also choose between a double oven or a single. For the hob, again there’s the same 3 ranges, and you can choose with a wok burner or without, black or stainless steel, etc.

    Begin whittling it down. If you want, i can show you the results of our selection.

    much love,
    F

    • Hey Fenella,

      Thanks for this info. Did you guys go with Ikea? I’m guessing yes since you’re talking about three price ranges for appliances and I know they do that. We actually had a look this weekend at both kitchens and bedroom furniture (the two things we’ll have to invest in first) and I think it was helpful. If Ikea, what range did you choose?

Leave a Reply

