The Grass is Always Grüner

When I was a kid, all I used to dream about was living life outside the US and exploring the world. This desire grew only stronger during my college years, and I finally got the opportunity to study abroad for longer stints in Scotland and Asia.

To me, at the time, very little about life in the US made sense or could be appreciated. The grass was most definitely greener pretty much anywhere else.

In 2004 I finally had the opportunity to move to Scotland and begin an expat life in earnest.  Since then, I have never regretted my choice to live abroad, but I can honestly say that with each year the reality of living away from family and friends has gotten a little harder to bear.  And life in another country has brought all the things that I actually do like about the US more sharply into focus. Slowly, things have begun to look a little more verdant stateside.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not yet ready to pack our bags and move back to the US, but I can also now say with certainty that I’d never trade in my US passport, either.

What I’ve learned is that there will always be good things about a life lived anywhere in the world, and there will always be drawbacks, too. The trick is to just appreciate life wherever you’re living it.

About bittenbythebug

I love travel and have always been fascinated by other cultures. Back in 2004, I began my life as an expat in Edinburgh, Scotland. Fast forward 5 1/2 amazing years later to 2010 and the new chapter in my expat adventure: Würzburg, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Grass is Always Grüner

  1. Fenella says:

    Wish I was there to give you hugs and take you out for tea and cupcakes.

    A very good friend of mine is moving from Phoenix, AZ to Munich next month. I want to hook you two up. She’s half German/half American and is also really keen on travelling. She can at least be a sympathetic ear in both languages.

    much love, F

    • It would be so great to see you and eat some cupcakes. We went to a cafe today and they were going to charge one euro if we wanted a hot water top up for our pot of tea. Talk about culture shock!! Anyway, I keep hoping we will find a place quickly, not only for our own peace of mind but also so we can host visitors soon. Apparently the airport that Ryanair uses near Munich isn’t that far from where we’re at. We have to look into it, but it might actually be a better option than Frankfurt.

      And yes – I would love to be connected to your friend! Please pass my details on to her. Miss you lots!

  2. Great blog, sounds like a really adventurous life! I enjoy reading about it 🙂
    Greetings from German Hausfrau to German Hausfrau 😉

Leave a Reply

